Theme music desired


Young musicians, composers, game musicians and sound designers up to 35 years of age can now submit their compositions for the Young Talent Award Media Music. The deadline for entries is 1 June 2019, and this year’s task is to o compose a theme music for Raymond Chandler’s novel Playback. The prize will be awarded on 14 August 2019 as part of this year’s MediaSoundHamburg (9 to 18 August 2019).

Playback from 1958 is Chandler’s last complete detective novel with the melancholic private detective Philip Marlow. For the seventh case, the American author revised his screenplay of the same name from 1949, which was rejected at the time and only published after Chandler’s death. Playback is Chandler’s only novel that was not filmed.

For this year’s Young Talent Award Media Music, MediaSound Hamburg invites young musicians, composers, game musicians and sound designers up to the age of 35 to write title music for the renowned Kaiser String Quartet. The entire material, including audio files, score for string quartet, and a brief written explanation of the composition process must be submitted by 1 June 2019. A jury of three experts consisting of the Dutch, German and Danish composers Than van Nispen, Stefan Eicke and Kristian Eidnes Andersen will decide on the winners. The first three award-winning compositions will be performed live by the Kaiser Quartett at this year’s MediaSoundHamburg at the award ceremony on 14 August 2019 in the resonanzraum. The winner of the first prize will receive an invitation to MediaSoundHamburg including free accommodation and board

The Young Talent Award Media Music will be presented for the sixth time at MediaSoundHamburg in 2019. The winners of the past years were Lev Tyrnov / Ukraine and Rune Eskildsen / Denmark (2018), Maxime Hervé / France (2017), Hayat Selim / Egypt (2016), Simon Schmidt / Germany (2015) and Alin Oprea / Germany (2014).

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *