MasterClass Foley

12/08 – 14/08/2019, 10:00 – 17:00
Sue Harding, Adam Méndez

This MasterClass is aimed at sound designers, sound engineers, musicians, composers, directors and producers and gives a comprehensive insight into the working world(s) of the Foley artist. After a theoretical part, the participants will be asked to record, edit and present their own sounds. A ProTools workstation is available for each participant, and their own laptops/MacBook can be brought along. Please bring your own audio recording equipment for the Foley recording sessions.

Content of the MasterClass Foley:

Day 1:
*Introduction to Foley for feature films
* Screening The Secret World of Foley
*Discussion and Q&A

Day 2:
* Practical exercises
* Group exercises
* Performing/recording sounds for a three-minute long scene

Day 3:
* Editing of songs recorded on the second day
* Presentation
* Final discussion

Tuition Fee: 1200 € (incl. 19 % VAT) or
FlateratePLUS: 2500 € (incl. 19% VAT)
for any of master classes, workshops, forums and special events, incl. MasterClass Sound Design
Flaterate:
1800 € (incl. 19% VAT)
for any of master classes, workshops, forums and special events, excl. MasterClass Sound Design
Student Discount: 20 %
Working Language: englisch
Location: Elsa Brändström Haus, Hamburg-Blankenese

Get Tickets

Sue Harding has been working as a freelance Foley artist for film and television for over 15 years. During this time she was involved in nearly 200 titles (The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, I, Daniel Blake, Quantum of Solace, In Bruges) and was nominated several times for an Emmy, in 2014 she received the coveted award for Sherlock. Although she spends most of her time in the studio behind the scenes, she was featured on camera in the award-winning short film and viral hit The Secret World of Foley. She also works on artistic projects for designers such as Nelly Ben Hayoun and poet Bhanu Kapil. During the “Klingt Gut! Klangsymposiums in Hamburg she performed a live foley for a version of The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari. Sue Harding has also conducted numerous workshops at festivals including Oslo, Brighton and Brescia.

Adam Méndez is an experienced and award-winning Foley and ADR mixer for the film and television industry. He has participated in films and series such as Tulip Fever, Finding your Feet, Florence Foster Jenkins, Exodus: Gods and Kings, Jason Bourne and Inspector Barnaby. Depending on the story, he transforms his studio into a spaceship, a Mars surface, an ocean or a swampy moor. Adam Méndez currently works at Twickenham Studios in London.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MasterClass Foley

12.08. – 14.08.2019, 10 – 17 Uhr
Sue Harding, Adam Mendéz

DieseMasterClass richtet sich an Sounddesigner*innen, Toningenieur*innen, Musiker*innen, Komponist*innen, Regisseur*innen und Produzent*innen und gibt einen umfassenden Einblick in die Arbeitswelt(en) des Foley Artists. Nach einem Theorieteil werden die Teilnehmer*innen aufgefordert, selbst Geräusche aufzunehmen, zu editieren und zu präsentieren. Für jede/n Teilnehmer*in steht ein ProTools Arbeitsplatz zur Verfügung, eigene Laptops/MacBook können mitgebracht werden. Für die Foley-Recording Sessions wird gebeten, eigenes Audio-Recording-Equipment mitzubringen.

Inhalt des MasterClass Foley:

Tag 1:
* Einführung in Foley für Spielfilme
* Screening The Secret World of Foley
* Diskussion und Q&A

Tag 2:
* Praktische Übungen
* Gruppenübungen
* Aufführen / Aufnehmen von Geräuschen für eine dreiminuten lange Szene

Tag 3:
*
Editieren von Stücken, die am zweiten Tag aufgenommen wurden
* Präsentation
* Abschlussdiskussion

Seminargebühr: 1.200 € (inkl. 19 % MwSt.) oder
FlateratePLUS: 2.500 € (inkl. 19% MwSt.)
für eine beliebige Anzahl von Masterclasses, Workshops, Foren und Special Events inkl. MasterClass Sound Design
Flaterate: 1.800 € (inkl. 19% MwST.)
für eine beliebige Anzahl von Masterclasses, Workshops, Foren und Special Events exkl. MasterClass Sound Design
Ermäßigung für Studierende: 20%
Zuschuss über Bildungsprämie möglich
Arbeitssprache: englisch
Veranstaltungsort: Elsa Brändström Haus, Hamburg-Blankenese

Zum Tickeshop

Sue Harding arbeitet seit über 15 Jahren als freiberufliche Foley-Künstlerin für Film und Fernsehen. In dieser Zeit war sie an fast 200 Titeln beteiligt (Deine Juliet, Ich, Daniel Blake, James Bond 007 – Ein Quantum Trost, Brügge sehen … und sterben, ) und wurde mehrmals für einen Emmy nominiert, 2014 erhielt sie die begeehrte Auszeichnung für Sherlock. Obwohl sie die meiste Zeit im Studio hinter den Kulissen verbringt, war sie vor der Kamera in dem vielfach preisgekrönten Kurzfilm und viralen Hit The Secret World of Foley zu sehen. Sie arbeitet auch für künstlerische Projekte unter anderem für die Designerin Nelly Ben Hayoun und die Dichterin Bhanu Kapil. Während des »Klingt Gut!« Klangsymposiums in Hamburg hat sie einen Live-Foley für eine Version von Das Cabinet des Dr. Caligari aufgeführt. Sue Harding hat außerdem zahlreiche Workshops geleitet unter anderem auf Festivals in Oslo, Brighton und Brescia.

Adam Méndez ist ein erfahrener und preisgekrönter Foley- und ADR-Mixer für die Film- und Fernsehindustrie. Er war unter anderem an den Filmen und Serien Tulpenfieber, Tanz ins Leben, Florence Foster Jenkins, Exodus: Götter und Könige, Jason Bourne und Inspector Barnaby beteiligt. Je nach Geschichte verwandelt er sein Atelier in ein Raumschiff, eine Marsoberfläche, einen Ozean oder in ein sumpfiges Moor. Adam Méndez arbeitet aktuell in den Twickenham Studios in London.

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.