MasterClass GameMusic

09/08 – 11/08/2019, 14:00 – 22:00/10:00 – 17:00
John Broomhall, Alastair Lindsay & Guests

In association with Game Music Connect

This Masterclass is aimed to composers, producers, students, musicians and everyone else who is interested in creating interactive music for video games and the business behind it. In advance of the class the participants will receive a briefing on a game and they have to create/score their own music. The results will be discussed at the last day of the MasterClass. This year’s Game Music masterclass, in association with Game Music Connect, will be led by game audio specialist, commentator and composer/musician John Broomhall and CORD Worldwide’s Head Of Audio (and formerly of Sony PlayStation) Alastair Lindsay, who between them share an expansive and wide-ranging wealth of experience and knowledge of the creative, technical and business issues around creating music for videogames. Over many years, both have written for, produced, commissioned and directed numerous videogame music projects from small indie titles to massive AAA blockbusters, gaining a first-hand view of the business from many angles. Lindsay has also worked extensively on PlayStation VR projects, his team at Sony pioneering the use and exploring the meaning of music in virtual reality experiences. Meanwhile, Game Music Connect co-founder Broomhall is currently writing music for Phoenix Point reprising his collaboration with game auteur Julian Gollop of XCOM fame. In a series of interlocking sessions, John Broomhall and Alastair Lindsay will discuss key factors for successfully making music for games as well as introducing an A-list special guest or two via videocall en route. Attached please find the homework for this year’s masterclass.

Tuition Fee: 1200 € (incl. 19 % VAT) or
FlateratePLUS: 2500 € (incl. 19% VAT)
for any of master classes, workshops, forums and special events, incl. MasterClass Sound Design with Randy Thom
Flaterate:
1800 € (incl. 19% VAT)
for any of master classes, workshops, forums and special events, excl. MasterClass Sound Design with Randy Thom
Student Discount: 20 %
Working Language: englisch
Location: Elsa Brändström Haus, Hamburg-Blankenese

Get Tickets

John Broomhall is the co-founder and host of Game Music Connect, half of EDM music artist String Theory (Modularity) and the composer for such iconic games as Transport Tycoon and X-COM/UFO: Enemy Unknown. A multi-faceted independent creative with many years’ experience in music and videogames, he previously held a number of senior in- house and outsourced management roles (including European Head Of Audio and Game Development Manager), and has dozens of published titles to his credit as composer/producer, audio director/consultant, sound designer and voice director. He’s written dozens of articles about game music and sound, and chaired numerous awards juries for Bafta. He curates and hosts the Develop Conference Audio Day in Brighton and has been a keynote speaker for AES. He received a Recognition Award from the Game Audio Network Guild of America and has spoken at London’s School Of Sound, Bilbao’s BIME PRO, The Sound of Story @Rewire and the Lithuanian Academy Of Music & Theatre. Current music writing projects include Phoenix Point, renewing his collaboration with original Xcom auteur Julian Gollop. Beyond games, he spends as much time as possible playing jazz keyboards.

Alastair Lindsay is Head of Audio at CORD Worldwide and before that headed up the audio team at Sony Interactive Entertainment Europe. He has a passion for interactive audio, modular synths and anything that makes sound in interesting and creative ways. Originally learning his craft in the mid 1980’s on the BBC Micro and Music 500 system, his rst game score for Tempest 2K picked up a CES award. Since then he’s enjoyed a 25 year career in videogames as Sound Designer, Composer, Audio Director and senior executive in charge of music productions for all internal and many external Sony game and VR titles – from initial brief to final release, both game and soundtrack. As such he has a rich experience of organising and in-game implementation of interactive orchestral music. Latterly at Sony he was also responsible for Music Licensing, Sound Design and Audio Programming. His extensive credits include: The Getaway, Eye Toy, SingStar, Gran Turismo, WipEout, Little Big Planet, Wonderbook, VR Worlds, RIGS and Horizon Zero Dawn.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

MasterClass GameMusic

09.08. – 11.08.2019, 14 – 22 Uhr/10 – 17 Uhr
John Broomhall, Alastair Lindsay & Gäste
In Zusammenarbeit mit Game Music Connect

Diese MasterClass richtet sich an Komponist*innen, Produzent*innen, Student*innen, Musiker*innen und an alle, die sich für interaktive Musik für Videospiele und das Geschäft dahinter interessieren. Im Vorfeld des Kurses erhalten die Teilnehmer*innen ein Briefing über ein Spiel und müssen ihre eigene Musik erstellen. Die Ergebnisse werden am letzten Tag der MasterClass diskutiert. Die diesjährige MasterClass GameMusic wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Game Music Connect von John Broomhall, einem Game-Audio Spezialisten und Komponisten, und Alastair Lindsay, Head of Audio von CORD Worldwide, geleitet. Beide verfügen über einen großen Erfahrungsschatz und kennen die kreativen, technischen und wirtschaftlichen Aspekte der Musikproduktion für Videogames. Broomshall und Lindsay haben zahlreiche Musikprojekte für Videogames geschrieben, produziert, in Auftrag gegeben und geleitet, von kleinen Indie-Titeln bis hin zu riesigen AAA-Blockbustern und können so den Kursteilnehmer*innen aus vielen verschiedenen Blickwinkelns einen Einblick in das Geschäft geben. Lindsay hat auch intensiv an VR-Projekten für Playstation gearbeitet, sein Team bei Sony hat mit als erstes die Bedeutung von Musik und Virtual Reality erforscht. Broomhall schreibt zurzeit Musik für Phoenix Point und setzt seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem bekannten XCOM-Spieler Julian Ollop fort. In einer Reihe von ineinandergreifenden Sessions werden John Broomhall und Alastair Lindsay in der dreitägigen MasterClass GameMusic die Schlüsselfaktoren für ein erfolgreiches Komponieren für Games diskutieren und einen oder zwei besondere Gäste der A-Liste per Videocall zuschalten und vorstellen. Hier geht es zur diesjährigen Hausaufgabe für die MasterClass.

Seminargebühr: 1.200 € (inkl. 19 % MwSt.) oder
Flaterate:1.800 € (inkl. 19% MwST.)
für eine beliebige Anzahl von Masterclasses, Workshops, Foren und Special Events ohne MasterClass Sound Design mit Randy Thom
FlateratePLUS: 2.500 € (inkl. 19% MwSt.)
für eine beliebige Anzahl von Masterclasses, Workshops, Foren und Special Events mit MasterClass Sound Design mit Randy Thom
Zuschuss über Bildungsprämie möglich
Arbeitssprache: englisch
Veranstaltungsort: Elsa Brändström Haus, Hamburg-Blankenese

Zum Tickeshop

John Broomhall ist Mitbegründer und Leiter von Game Music Connect und Komponist von Games-Klassikern wie Transport Tycoon und X-COM/UFO: Enemy Unknown. Zusammen mit Pete Letton hat er als Musiker die EP String Theory /Modularity, ein Mix aus EDM und Jazz, herausgegeben. Als vielseitiger unabhängiger Kreativer mit langjähriger Erfahrung in der Musik- und Videogames-Industrie hatte Broomhall zuvor eine Reihe von leitenden Managementpositionen inne. Er veröffentlichte Dutzende von Titeln als Komponist und Produzent, Audio Director/Consultant, Sound Designer und Voice Director, schrieb zahlreiche Artikel über Gamemusic und Sound und leite bereits mehrere Preisjurys für die BAFTA. Broomhall kuratiert und moderiert den Develop Conference Audio Day in Brighton und war Keynote Speaker für die Audio Engineering Society. Er erhielt unter anderem einen Preis von der Game Audio Network Guild of America und sprach an der Londoner School Of Sound, bei der BIME PRO in Bilbao, bei The Sound of Story @Rewire in Denhaag und an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Littauen. Zur Zeit arbeitet er unter anderem an einem Kompositionsauftrag für Phoenix Point. Neben seiner Beschäftigung mit Games verbringt er so viel Zeit wie möglich am Jazz-Keboard.

Alastair Lindsay ist Head of Audio bei CORD Worldwide und leitete zuvor das Audio-Team von Sony Interactive Entertainment Europe. Er hat eine Leidenschaft für interaktive Audioformate, modulare Synths und alles, was man mit Sounds machen kann. Sein Handwerk lernte er Mitte der 80er Jahre auf dem BBC Micro und dem Music 500-System und erhielt für die Gamemusik von Tempest 2K einen CES-Award. Seitdem kann er auf eine 25-jährige Videogame-Karriere als Sound Designer, Komponist, Audio Director und als Senior Executive für Musikproduktionen aller internen und zahlreicher externen Sony-Spiele- und VR-Titel zurückblicken. Alastair Lindsay hat auch große Erfahrung in der Organisation und Umsetzung interaktiver Orchestermusik bei Games. Zuletzt war er bei Sony für Music Licensing, Sound Design und Audio Programming verantwortlich. Zu seinen Credits gehören: The Getaway, Eye Toy, SingStar, Gran Turismo, WipEout, Little Big Planet, Wonderbook, VR Worlds, RIGS und Horizon Zero Dawn.

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.