MasterClass: Sound Editing – The Cutting Edge

13/08 – 15/08 2021

10:00am – 05:00pm

Nina Hartstone

A 3-day MasterClass in all aspects of sound editing and supervision. Expand your knowledge on how to create a cutting edge soundscape for every project. With sessions in workflow, building your team, innovative post production recording techniques and editing tips and secrets, you’ll learn how to engage the viewer and tell stories with sound. The MasterClass offers the unique opportunity to gather practical experiences and to receive personal feedback on your own work in close cooperation with Nina Hartstone.

We ask each participant to bring their own laptop/MacBook with ProTools if possible. The participants will receive a homework in advance of the MasterClass to create their own sound design. The results will be part of the discussions at the last day of the workshop.

The MasterClass is aimed at sound designers, sound engineers, musicians, composers, directors and producers.

Tuition Fee: 1200 € (incl. 19 % VAT) or
Flatrate: 1600 € (incl. 19% VAT) for any numbers of MasterClasses, Workshops, MSH Conference Events and SpecialEvents
Discount for students, trainees, interns: 20% (certificate required)
Working Language: english
Location: HAW Hamburg Faculty DMI, Finkenau 35, 22081 Hamburg

We guarantee:
In case of unforeseeable events in connection with the Corona pandemic, which make participation or
a trip to / stay in Hamburg impossible, we will of course refund the fees already paid.

Nina Hartstone has won the Oscar for Best Achivement in Sound Editing as Supervising Dialog/ADR Editor on “Bohemian Rhapsody”. She is working in feature films, specialising in Dialog and automatic dialogue replacement (ADR). She has worked in the industry since the early 90’s. Her credits include “An Education” (2009), “Gravity” (2013), “Cats” (2019) and “Bohemian Rhapsody” of course, for which she has on a Bafta as well. She lives in Windsor, U.K.

MasterClass: Sound Editing – The Cutting Edge

13. – 15.08. 2021

10:00 – 17:00 Uhr

Nina Hartstone

Eine 3-tägige MasterClass mit Nina Hartstone zu allen Aspekten der Tonbearbeitung. Nina Hartstone zeigt, wie für jedes Projekt eine hochmoderne Klanglandschaft geschaffen werden kann. Mit Beispielen in Workflow, Aufbau Ihres Teams, innovativer Postproduktion von Aufnahmetechniken und Bearbeitung, Tipps und Geheimnissen. Hier wird deutlich, wie man den Zuschauer fesselt und Geschichten durch Ton erzählt. Die MasterClass bietet die einzigartige Möglichkeit, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Nina Hartstone praktische Erfahrungen zu sammeln und persönliches Feedback zu deiner eigenen Arbeit zu erhalten.

Wir bitten alle Teilnehmer*innen Ihren eigenen Laptop/MacBook nach Möglichkeit mit ProTools mitzubringen. Die Teilnehmer*innen erhalten im Vorfeld der MasterClass eine Hausaufgabe zur Erstellung eines eigenen Sounddesigns. Die Ergebnisse werden Teil der Diskussionen am letzten Tag des Workshops sein.

Die MasterClass richtet sich an Sounddesigner*innen, Toningenieur*innen, Musiker*innen, Komponist*innen, Regisseur*innen und Produzent*innen.

Seminargebühr: 1200 € (inkl. 19 % MwSt.)
Flatrate: 1600 € (inkl. 19% MwSt.)
für eine beliebige Anzahl von MasterClasses, Workshops, Veranstaltungen im Rahmen derMSH Conference und Special Events
Ermäßigung für Studierende, Auszubildende und Praktikant*innen: 20% (Nachweis erforderlich)
Zuschuss über Bildungsprämie möglich – mehr Infos
Arbeitssprache: englisch
Veranstaltungsort: HAW Hamburg Fakultät DMI, Finkenau 35, 22081 Hamburg

Wir garantieren:
Bei unvorhersehbaren Ereignissen im Zusammenhang mit der Corona-Pandemie, die eine Teilnahme oder eine Reise nach / einen Aufenthalt in Hamburg unmöglich machen, erstatten wir selbstverständlich die bereits gezahlten Gebühren.

Nina Hartstone hat als Supervising Dialog/ADR Editor bei „Bohemian Rhapsody“ den Oscar für die beste Leistung im Bereich Sound Editing gewonnen. Sie arbeitet bei Spielfilmen und hat sich auf Dialog und automatische Dialogersetzung (ADR) spezialisiert. Sie ist seit den frühen 90er Jahren in der Branche tätig. Zu ihren Credits gehören „An Education“ (2009), „Gravity“ (2013), „Cats“ (2019) und natürlich „Bohemian Rhapsody“, für den sie auch einen Bafta bekommen hat. Sie lebt in Windsor, U.K.