Music Production Workshop

05/08 – 8/08/2019 10:00 – 17:00
From microphone to finished mix
Thomas Görne, Made Indrayana

In this workshop, the participants get insights about producing a record with the exciting band Sahad the Nataal Patchwork from Senegal. Some of the highlights at the beginning of the workshop are nuts-and-bolts microphone technology (including shootouts of the most famous studio microphones), room acoustics, the interdependencies of instrument, room and microphone, and setting up the microphones and mixing board including outboard effects in the recording process to support the musical goals of the band or the producer. The participants will then dive deeper into the world of effective usage from EQs, compressors, and other effects in the mixing process to sculpt the music into a professional and groovy product, mixing either in the old school analogue studio, or on the modern digital production console, or software based “in the box”. Finally, you will get a glimpse into the ‘dark arts’ of mastering, which is misunderstood very often in modern times. The workshop is suitable for musicians, composers, producers, even sound engineers who wish to gain more experience in the field.

Tuition Fee: 800 € (incl. 19 % VAT)
Student Discount: 20 %
Working Language: english
Location: Sound Lab of Hamburg University of Applied Science (HAW), Finkenau 35, 22081 Hamburg
Organizer: International Film Television & Music Academy (IFFMA) in cooperation with Hamburg University of Applied Science (HAW) and MediaSoundHamburg (MSH)

Get Ticket

Thomas Görne graduated in Electrical Engineering with a major in Acoustics from TU Berlin in 1991. From 1991 to 1993 he was research assistant at TU Berlin, working on artificial neural networks and pattern recognition. From 1999 to 2003 he was a member of the research staff at the Department of Physics at Potsdam University, performing research on the acoustics of the organ. In between, he worked for some 10 years as a freelance ADR, Foley and re-recording mixer with several film post production companies, including Studio Babelsberg, Arri Contrast and Berliner Synchron, working in more than 300 TV and film productions, and he founded the CD label Carpe Diem and produced a number of Early Music works. In 2004 he was appointed to a professorship for Music Transmission Theory at Detmold University of Music (HfM Detmold) and became head of Detmold’s Tonmeister education. In 2008 he moved to Hamburg, where he now is Professor of Audio Design and Audio Systems and head of the Sound Lab at Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (HAW Hamburg). He is author of several textbooks on audio, including Mikrofone – Theorie und Praxis (Microphones, Elektor 1994/2007, 9th edition), and Tontechnik (Sound Engineering, Hanser 2006, 4th edition). His last book entitled Sounddesign – Klang, Wahrnehmung, Emotion (Sound, Perception, Emotion) was published by Hanser in June 2017. Thomas Görne is Member of the Audio Engineering Society (AES) since 1991, Member of VDT and DEGA, and Audio Expert at Germany’s National Accreditation Body (DAkkS). Since 2017, he is Vice President of the AES for Central Europe Region.

Made Indrayana began at the early age of seven, when he started recording his favourite anime show’s song from his family’s television to his tape recorder. His eagerness to experiment and to try something new led him to learn many different musical instruments, and enroll in the Conservatory of Music Universitas Pelita Harapan (UPH), Indonesia, studying Sound Design and Music Production in 2008. Afterwards he worked for the university as an assistant lecturer. In 2015, Indra moved to Germany to pursue a Master’s Degree at the University of Applied Sciences in Hamburg (HAW), enrolling in the Master of Arts program, “Time-Dependent Media”. Here he expanded his skills working on projects with the Landesjugendjazzorchester (Youth Jazz Orchestra) Landesjugendorchester (Youth Orchestra) of the State of Hamburg, among others, and cooperating with the University of Music and Theater (HfMT) Hamburg. He has also participated in various film projects, among others through cooperations with the Hamburg University of Arts (HfBK) film school. He won the Silver Award in the Recording Competition at the 140th Audio Engineering Society (AES) Convention in Paris. At the same convention, he also volunteered in the Technical Team, working directly under the legendary Michael Williams and Glenn Lorbecki at the Professional Sound Exhibition (PSE) Stage. He later returned to volunteer at the 142th AES Convention Berlin, taking the same role. Active in many audio organisations, he was Chair of the AES Hamburg Student Section in 2016 until 2017, and he has been a leading organizer for three klingt gut! international conferences on sonic art and audio technology in Hamburg. Right now, he is dedicating himself in (immersive) audio for virtual reality and games with a new startup Double Shot Audio, which he founded together with his business partner Benjamin Gallagher, and he is lecturer in Music Production at Hamburg Unversity of Applied Sciences.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Music Production Workshop

05.08. – 08.08.2019, 10 – 17 Uhr
Vom Mikrofon zum fertigen Mix
Thomas Görne & Made Indrayana

Der Workshop gibt Einblicke in die Produktion eines Tonträgers mit der spannenden Band Sahad the Nataal Patchwork aus dem Senegal. Einige der Highlights zu Beginn des Workshops sind die »Nuts-and-Bolts« Mikrofon-Technologie (einschließlich der Shootouts der bekanntesten Studiomikrofone), die Raumakustik, die Wechselwirkungen von Instrument, Raum und Mikrofon sowie die Aufstellung der Mikrofone und des Mischpults einschließlich der Outboardeffekte im Aufnahmeprozess zur Unterstützung der musikalischen Ziele der Band oder des Produzenten. Die Workshopteilnehmer*innen tauchen dann tiefer in die Welt der effektiven Nutzung von EQs, Kompressoren und anderen Effekten im Mischprozess ein, um die Musik zu einem professionellen und groovigen Produkt zu formen, entweder im analogen Studio der alten Schule, auf dem modernen digitalen Produktionspult oder softwarebasiert »in the box«. Sie erhalten außerdem einen Einblick in die »dunkle Kunst« des Masterings, die in der Neuzeit sehr oft missverstanden wird. Der Workshop richtet sich an Musiker*innen, Komponist*innen, Produzent*innen und auch Toningenieur*innen, die mehr Erfahrung auf diesem Gebiet sammeln möchten.

Seminargebühr: 800 € (inkl. 19 % MwSt.)
Ermäßigung für Studierende: 20%
Zuschuss über Bildungsprämie möglich (www.bildungspraemie.info)
Arbeitssprache: englisch
Veranstaltungsort: Sound Lab der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg (HAW), Finkenau 35, 22081 Hamburg
Veranstalter: Internationale Film Fernseh & Musik Akademie (IFFMA) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg (HAW) und MediaSoundHamburg (MSH)

Zum Tickeshop

Thomas Görne arbeitete nach seinem Studium der Elektrotechnik mit dem Schwerpunkt Akustik an der TU Berlin zunächst als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an künstlichen neuronalen Netzen und Mustererkennung. Von 1999 bis 2003 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Physikalischen Institut der Universität Potsdam und beschäftigte sich mit der Akustik des Organs. Zwischenzeitlich arbeitete er etwa 10 Jahre lang als freier ADR-, Foley- und Re-Recording-Mixer für verschiedene Postproduktionsfirmen, darunter Studio Babelsberg, Arri Contrast und Berliner Synchron und war an mehr als 300 TV- und Filmproduktionen beteiligt. Er gründete das CD-Label Carpe Diem und produzierte eine Reihe von Werken Alter Musik. 2004 wurde er auf eine Professur für Musikübertragungstheorie an die Hochschule für Musik Detmold (HfM Detmold) berufen und übernahm dort die Leitung der Tonmeisterausbildung. Seit 2008 ist Thomas Görne Professor für Audio Design und Audiosysteme und Leiter des Sound Lab an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg (HAW Hamburg). Görne hat mehrere Lehrbücher zum Thema Audio geschrieben, unter anderem Mikrofone – Theorie und Praxis (Elektor 1994/2007, 9. Ausgabe) und Tontechnik (Hanser 2006, 4. Ausgabe). Im Juni 2017 erschien sein Buch Sounddesign – Klang, Wahrnehmung, Emotion bei Hanser. Thomas Görne ist seit 1991 Mitglied der Audio Engineering Society (AES), seit 1991 Mitglied im VDT und in der DEGA sowie Audioexperte bei der Deutschen Akkreditierungsstelle (DAkkS). Seit 2017 ist er Vizepräsident der AES für die Region Zentraleuropa.

Made Indrayana begann bereits im Alter von sieben Jahren, den Song seiner Lieblings-Anime-Show vom Fernseher seiner Familie auf sein Tonbandgerät aufzunehmen. Er lernte verschiedene Musikinstrumente und studierte am Conservatory of Music Universitas Pelita Harapan (UPH), Indonesien Sound Design und Musikproduktion. Nach seinem Abschluss arbeitete er zunächst als Assistent an der Universität. Für seinen Master wechselte Indrayana nach Deutschland und studierte an der der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften in Hamburg (HAW) Zeitabhängige Medien/Sound-Vision-Games. Er arbeitete an verschiedenen Projekten unter anderem mit dem Landesjugendjazzorchesters Hamburg und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule für Musik und Theater (HfMT) Hamburg. Darüber hinaus hat er in Kooperation mit der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg (HfBK) an verschiedenen Filmprojekten mitgewirkt. Indrayana gewann den Silver Award im Recording Competition auf der 140th Audio Engineering Society (AES) Convention in Paris. Auf der gleichen Convention meldete er sich auch freiwillig im Technical Team und arbeitete mit Michael Williams und Glenn Lorbecki auf der Professional Sound Exhibition (PSE) Stage. Von 2016 bis 2017 war Made Indrayana Vorsitzender der AES Hamburg Student Section und Projektleiter von drei internationalen Symposien zu Klangkunst und Audiotechnik (klingt gut!) in Hamburg. Mit seinem Startup Double Shot Audio, das er zusammen mit seinem Geschäftspartner Benjamin Gallagher gegründet hat, widmet er sich dem Bereich (Immersive) Audio für Virtual Reality und Games. Made Indrayana arbeitet außerdem als Dozent für Musikproduktion an der HAW Hamburg.

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.